Lessons for my daughter

It was with a heavy heart today that I watched my beautiful baby embark on her first day of high school. As I watched her nervously hold her besties hand into school, I burst into tears. So many emotions controlling my mind, body and heart. I’m so proud of the sassy, amazing young woman she’s become. Proud of how maturely she handles herself in difficult, stressful situations life throws our way, proud of the gorgeous friendship she’s made with another fantastic girl.
I’m left thinking though, have I prepared you enough for this journey of the rest of your life.

You’re going to realise quickly not all humans have the same hearts as others. Some people are just plain nasty. I’ve taught you to avoid toxic energy- but will you see and realise that in a group of your peers.

 I’m hoping I haven’t focused too much on looking for the good in people, that you trust the wrong ones, and gets yourself in trouble. There are so many people in this world that will try to bring you down. Try to bully, manipulate or degrade you – they have the issue not you.

I stress about the day you want me to meet your first boyfriend. Have I taught you what you are worth, how to find a boy that respects you, is a gentleman and empowers you? 

Have I taught you, your opinions are valid. They won’t always be right, but they are worthy of being included, listened to and validated by everyone.

I’m hoping I’ve given you enough strength to make safe decisions, to know that, no matter what situation you find yourself, you always have me on your side. I will always be there to rescue you (perhaps the odd consequence, but I’m here to protect and keep you safe above all) 

Do you know how much I love and respect you? Regardless of the rules, the arguments, the silences, you are my favorite human and my complete world.

Have I taught you to believe in your own thoughts and feelings. Follow your gut, even if it means taking a different path from the crowd. Stand out, be unique and be as proud of you as I am.

Be yourself. Always. You are perfect and you are enough. 

5 thoughts on “Lessons for my daughter

Leave a Reply

